know it all (7.05pm)

my husband M knows me.

he pays attention. he watches who i am—who i am becoming.

he takes notes in his trapper keeper heart.

every time he opens a scrapbook—his in heart, on mind collection of me.  it is like a gift.

his declaration of my value. his wanting enough to pursue.

  • to chase after knowing me.
  • to keep reminders.
  • to flip through the pages often with purpose filled love.

god wants that gift.  it’s his love language too. knowing.

for us to know him. for our worship to be a pursuit of him.

when we remind ourselves… just who his I AM is. when we turn more pages and circle things big and write down what feels too important not to take with us.

like moments when i get to tell my for thirteen years husband something that raises eyebrows and begs for an “i didn’t know that about you”…

…god loves the ‘did you know’ reveal. something leading to wide open eyes and hearts fuller of who he is. he delights  in our scrapbooks, our heart and soul and mind collections of him.

“o lord, you have searched me and known me! you know when i sit down and when i rise up;
you discern my thoughts from afar. you search out my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways. even before a word is on my tongue, behold, o lord, you know it altogether.”      psalm 139:1-4(ESV)

2 thoughts on “know it all (7.05pm)

  1. Very powerful analogy. One that more husbands and wives would try this approach and most important that we see that like us………God wants a real relationship with discovery on our part of who He is and how much He loves us and provides for ALL our needs. That worship is trying to find out as much as we can about God. Searching for revealing evidence of His core and desire. Thank you again Kris for leading me down a path and into a field in which I need to hunt………………..the road less traveled by many of us.

thoughts, reactions or found a typo? i would love to know...

