knit (10.32am)

it is open-mouthed wonder that my body

protected and produced you.

god’s fingers knit pieces of me into your future laughter,

your emotions would same as mine rise and fall

with the force of crested waves.

your dad’s imprint is on every part of your skin

but me, i have your neck.

it is the one part of my outer self

god copy and pasted on.

and in every i don’t need to but eager to

check on you sleeping,

i want to place a hand there to hold back time.

to give you one more day of

fitting into my lap love.

freedom to press against our sleeping selves for the

chasing away of bad dreams.

but god is beckoning you to grow towards him.

so every day i prepare you for take off,

speak of his good flight plans for you.

remind you he keeps his promises by

trying to keep mine.

because in the knitting of you he laid claim as creator

and these precious days are a thanks filled borrowing.

knit

for you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
i praise you because i am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
i know that full well.
my frame was not hidden from you
when i was made in the secret place,
when i was woven together in the depths of the earth.
your eyes saw my unformed body;
all the days ordained for me were written in your book
before one of them came to be.

psalm 139:13-16 (NIV)

___________________________________________________________________________

to my son D. on occasion of his turning nine years alive:

4 thoughts on “knit (10.32am)

thoughts, reactions or found a typo? i would love to know...

